Since it’s a big problem for many of us, and there are so many different solutions – charging through your computer, through a standard charger, through a power bank, etc. – that we asked a few of our writers what they use to charge their mobile devices.

Our Opinion

Damien reports that he prefers to charge his devices through the standard power socket. However, if he’s on the move, he tends to “charge using the USB port of my laptop.” Mahesh also uses the standard charger, but when he’s out, he uses a power bank for charging his mobile device.

Trevor does the same for the most part. He charges his Nexus 5x with the charger it shipped with in addition to a longer cable. When he’s in the car, he uses the USB port with a “noodle cable” or a power port to USB adapter with the same cable. However, he notes that losing battery is a rarity for him, as it usually lasts the majority of the day, but the “rapid charging helps with a quick boost” when he needs it. Charnita explains that when she’s in her home office where she spends most of her time, she has “a PowerCube attached to my desk, and I use a charging cable via one of the USB ports.” While she is sleeping, she uses a USB adapter with a timer so that it will turn off at a certain point “to prevent overcharging.” While she’s out and about, she either uses the USB in her car or a power bank.

For me, I rely on power banks during the day. I use my iPad and iPhone exclusively, and I don’t sit near an outlet and don’t want to run cords all over the place. So I plug in my iPad overnight to a power strip that like Charnita’s PowerCube has USB outlets in it. I charge my power banks there as well. Then during the day I use a smaller power bank for my iPhone and a large one that has a 2A USB on it for my iPad. Both devices are much older, so they don’t carry the charge they once did.

Your Turn

We’d like to hear what methods you use. Do you use the standard charger in the wall like Damien and Mahesh, or do you rely on other apparatus such as power banks, power strips, and car chargers? Maybe you go the old-fashioned route to charge through your computer. What do you use to charge your mobile devices? Let us know in the comments section below.. Image Credit: Phone Charger Cord, Mi Power Bank 10400mAh