First a little perspective – I LIKE to listen to music, especially when I’m at work or riding the bus on the way back home. But, I don’t really like any of the radio stations that play in my area and then there are those times when I just want to listen to a particular song and waiting for my favorite online radio station to play it, just doesn’t cut it. Times like these are when I miss my desktop at home the most because that is where I store all my music collection. I’m sure you all will agree with me on this and if you’re a music lover, I’m also pretty sure you must have faced this problem yourself. Today, I found a solution for this problem. AudioBox.fm ! AudioBox is an online cloud based audio streaming service for your own music. What that means is that they provide you with space on their servers to upload your music and then listen to it using an awesome full featured web application. The best part about AudioBox is that you don’t even need to install any application on your computer/mobile to stream songs from their site. It all works using an HTML 5 based web application.

Uploading Music and Getting Started

AudioBox offers up to 1 GB of space FREE for you to store your music. Just sign up, pick the free plan, choose a username and password you’re good to go. One short email confirmation and you’re all set to upload 1 GB worth of music to AudioBox’s cloud. Once you’re inside AudioBox, launch the music player by clicking the “Cloud Web Player” link on the top of the page.

This will take you to an iTunes like HTML 5 application that lets you upload music to AudioBox’s servers and play it at your convenience.

Click the “Upload Media” button in the top left corner of the page to upload your music files. Once all your music has been uploaded, you can start playing by simply clicking the play button, or double clicking the particular song that you want to listen to. AudioBox works almost like a real desktop based music application.

The free version of AudioBox lets you stream music to a desktop only using your web browser but if you upgrade your plan, you also get the ability to stream music to a mobile device like the iPhone. Have you ever felt the need to listen to a song your desktop when you’re away from it ? Does AudioBox sound like the application that’ll solve your problem ? Let us know in the comments.